I Just Want to Live a Little

Life. Family. Struggles. The ups and downs. Ever hear of impossibly high expectations? That’s my parents. Oh, also of course when one parent agrees with something the other sides with them without a second glance. Okay, so I have a gifted IQ. Not like exceptionally, but above your average person I guess. So this is how it went:

My one parent suggests that I do some extra schoolwork during the summer. I’m thinking, “Heck NO.”

I suggest my idea of doing something I like and selling to people I know for a bit of pocket money. Or just for gifts ya know…

The response I get: Parent says it’s too original and I should go online with it. My problem is:

A) They have no idea how freaking hard it is to get advertised out here on the web.

…and

B) I wasn’t even planning to go big with that much less spending that much money to set up shop online.

So when I explain that the parent only shrugs and says, “Fine don’t take my advice and fail and learn the hard way.”

What. The. World.

So now if I don’t follow my parent’s “wise” advice I’ll fail. What they don’t understand is that I get the joy in actually doing it. I could really care less if I earned money or not although it would be nice if I could.
I know my parents only want what is best for me but they have to show it in the worst possible ways. In other words:

A) Forcing me to do something I don’t want to do.

Or….

B) Making me do another option that again I do NOT want to do.

I really should be thankful for what I have but I can’t just help and vent. I’m a freaking 14 year old. I’m a teenager. I’m going into high school. Essentially what I’m saying is: “I JUST WANT TO LIVE A LITTLE.”

In the summer that’s what most teens do and exactly what I intend to do. I just pray to God that He will help me sort out this mess.

Although you could blame this post all on “teenage hormones” or impulsiveness or something like that, I do believe that you all either are or were a teen at some point in your life. You should be able to relate. We’ve all had our ups and downs. Honestly though, this life is not perfect and we’re only here for Him. So as much as I dislike saying this at this very moment, I must honor my parents. It’s a commandment. It’s God’s word and so I will comply. It’s for the greater good.

This still applies to me, and no matter how old you are this applies to you as well. Though we can’t live with our parents, honestly, we can’t live without them.

I’ll leave you with this verse:

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother”–which is the first commandment with a promise–“that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.”

Ephesians 6:1-3

Leave a Reply

