Respect

Okay so, where to start?

Respect is a big issue of mine and I’d love to fully show it more. Yes, I’m your typical teen and I find it hard to respect my parents at times.

Okay that might be a half-truth…I find it hard to respect my parents the majority of the time. It doesn’t necessarily help that I’m a quick-tempered person. I’m pretty sure you’ve all been there before sometime or another.

We’re all told to respect our elders, our parents, relatives, friends, and ourselves. If you were lucky enough to grow up in a Christian household, like I am right now, you were also told to respect God.

Not only does being respected add to your dignity and self-esteem, but if you don’t take advantage of it, you can let it boost your humility as well. When you see others acting kindly towards you and treating you with respect, doesn’t that fill you with any sort of respect for them?

Technically, it’s your call. I’m just suggesting something that you may or may not have thought about before.
Again with respect, I kinda am really lacking in that department right now. I also feel that I’m neglecting spending time with God. I have so much free time that I spend on wasteless stuff.

I appreciate your prayers. I’m at a blank in life. It’s not really going well, but it’s not going badly. It just is.

The Bible has several verses about Respect. I’ll share a few of them that I’m pondering right now. Respecting others isn’t easy. I can tell you that from experience. Especially when you hold a grudge against a person, or a person holds a grudge against you. My advice to you is to let that difference be put aside. If another isn’t treating you with respect, be the mature person and treat them with kindness in return.

Philippians 2:3

Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind let each of you regard one another as more important than himself;

You might just be surprised at how that results.

It may not seem like the best thing to do, but I tell you that respect is very important. It plays a major part in how others view you and God as well. So set a good image for yourself, other believers, and our Messiah. Respect. Honor. They’re the same thing really.

Give it your best effort not to view others with partiality.


1 Peter 2:17

Honor all men; love the brotherhood, fear God, honor the king.

That’s all I really have to say. Again, I’m sorry if I’m being preachy. I myself need major help in this area. Also, you can’t forget the fact that I’m a mere teen. Thanks for listening.

Romans 12:10

Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor;

With that, blessings your way,

-Fayth

20130711-234246.jpg

3 thoughts on “Respect

  1. wsforchrist August 15, 2013 / 2:17 pm

    Lovely post. I thought about those for whom I carry a grudge and was helped by your words. Thank you. You are truly mature.

    Like

Leave a Reply

