Notions About Beauty

There are so, so many different preconceived notions about beauty.

The most stereotypical one is in what pleases the eye. Beauty is often referred to as physical appearance. Sure, that’s the beauty of looks, but I’m not feeling it. I don’t believe that you’re beautiful if your body is physically attractive.

I guess what brought this post on was a book that I just recently read. It’s called Blind to Beauty by Kaila {@somethingtrue} on wattpad. (It’s generally a book for teens, and wattpad is my favorite app at the moment.) Click here to read the book online. Basically, it’s a book about a girl who everyone calls beautiful, but she wants to be known for more than her looks. She becomes a blind guy’s aide for fulfilling her community service hours and builds a relationship with him. In the end, they fall in love and they’re both happy. The blind guy fell in love with her inner beauty, her personality, and kindness. That’s some true beauty right there.

To me, as a Christian, true beauty isn’t just your kindness or the way you act. It’s the way you set an example for others, the way you portray all believers and Christ alike.

It’s your devotion to your faith.

Your willingness to repent, accept that things are wrong, and ask God to help you correct your sins.

It’s the beauty of your faith.

That’s what’s beauty in my eyes. Again that might be setting my standards a bit high, but, honestly, I can’t describe it. I just know it when I see it. Or at least, I like to think that I do.

“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”

Remember that. I believe that it’s true. As I said earlier in my post, A Matter of Perspective , everyone views things differently.

So those are just a few of my notions about beauty. What are yours?

Blessings,
-Fayth

tumblr_m5948cdalx1ruqr2jo1_500

3 thoughts on “Notions About Beauty

  1. jesusfreakblogger July 31, 2013 / 7:55 pm

    You just said exactly what every girl, teen, and woman in America and the world needs to hear. Your simple yet touching words are so true, and you have an amazing perspective and honesty. THANK YOU for a post that really is helping me to focus on REAL beauty rather than just outward appearance. God bless you!!! x, K

    Like

    • faythmartin19 July 31, 2013 / 8:33 pm

      Thank you for all the great feedback. I’m glad you think so. ;) Blessings your way,
      Fayth

      Like

Leave a Reply

