Application

Just in case you were wondering, no, this is not a post about “applications” in the job sense. What I’m talking about here is, application. In all common sense, it is the same word, but it just has two different meanings.

By definition, this is what application is:

Application – (noun) the quality of being usable for a particular purpose or in a special way; relevance;

In other words, application, is the noun of the word apply.

So you might be wondering why I decided to write this post. The idea for this post was sparked by an idea that I gathered during a conversation with a few friends.

Somehow we randomly got around to talking about tattoos. My one friend made a good point about Leviticus 19:28, “Do not cut your bodies for the dead, and do not mark your skin with tattoos. I am the Lord.” It obviously states that God does not want us to get tattoos. It truly is a good point. What I am still pondering is if that verse is still applicable to us, as Christians, today in the 21st century. Does God find shame in tattoos that praise His name? Is a book of righteous laws that the Lord wrote for the Israelites, God’s chosen people, still applicable today? Does the application of these words make you more holy or less holy than others? Pretty much all of God’s word should still be applied today.

Now I’m not going to go into a whole lecture about the tattoo thing now. I don’t want to bore you to death. Plus, I think it’s up to you to find out on your own. What I guess I’m trying to say here is: application of the Bible is good. It’s perfectly okay if you don’t follow the Bible word for word. As bad as that sounds, hear me out. For example: We don’t sacrifice burnt offerings for our sins as people in Biblical times did. Jesus died for them.

The Scripture is here to give us God’s wisdom and help us learn the history of Jesus, the prophets, and other great people in Biblical times.

All of God’s word is applicable to modern everyday life, and only a bit isn’t as much. It’s understandable that we as humans won’t be able to follow everything perfectly, but that’s okay. Always strive for what God wants. That’s just the way it is. Thanks for reading and hearing me out. Sorry that today’s post may seem lecture-ish. It’s just what was on my mind.

On a side note, school is coming up soon and so I’ll probably post considerably less. I’m sorry and I’ll try to fit in posting as much as I can when ideas come up, but I’ll have a much busier schedule.

Enjoy this summer while it lasts!

May the Lord be with you throughout your day,

-Fayth

4 thoughts on “Application

  1. donna August 1, 2013 / 3:05 pm

    Hi Fayth,

    Thank you for your voice and sharing your revelations of the Lord. It’s good to hear from a young perspective. Your post prompts me to leave this reply–God’s Word is more than enough and we should apply all of it to our lives. The Bible did away with animal sacrifices through the once-for-all sacrifice of Christ Jesus, but it did not remove the command against tattooing or cutting the flesh. People always have the option to do what they want but if you’re a Christian you should want to do what the Lord wants and says. It’s when we add to or delete from the Word that we get into problems. See Revelations 1:3.

    God bless you and your studies this school year! And keep looking to the Lord Jesus for your answers to life’s questions…

    Donna

    Like

    • faythmartin19 August 1, 2013 / 3:37 pm

      Thanks for the wise words. I do agree with you. I’m continually trying to apply the Scripture to my everyday life, even though sometimes it is a struggle to do so.

      Like

  2. jesusfreakblogger August 3, 2013 / 3:21 pm

    I was talking about this yesterday with someone, and your post has cleared my mind a bit! I understand what you mean, esp. since many of the rules and traditions from the Old Testament were done away with. And application is VERY hard sometimes….thank you for another lovely post!

    Like

    • faythmartin19 August 3, 2013 / 4:32 pm

      Thank YOU for taking the time to read it.:) I agree with you wholeheartedly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

