Doubt

I hate Satan with a passion. HATE.

That’s a strong word right there, but I really do.

Recently I’ve unknowingly let him creep into my mind and place thoughts of doubt there. The main thing I’ve struggled with in my faith journey, is doubt.

Sometimes I doubt. I don’t doubt God’s existence, but I do doubt that I’m saved. I’ve accepted Jesus more times than I can count. I’ve struggled to hear His voice. I’ve panicked because I didn’t want to go to hell.

I know I’m a Christian. I know I’m saved. I often pray, “I believe, help me overcome my unbelief.”

It’s just Satan gets to me. He’s devious in that evil way.

I have experienced lots of doubt in my Christianity, but I have always overcome it. Right now is one of those phases. I appreciate any and all prayers if you read this and think of me.

My lovely and wise middle school Bible teacher once told me, “Fayth, whenever you doubt the Lord go to John 14:1-5 and replace every you with your name.”

So I did exactly that, and that’s exactly what I’m going to do right now.

(This is Jesus talking to the disciples.)

John 14:1-5 NIV

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. 2 My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4 You know the way to the place where I am going.”

When you struggle with doubt read these verses and then replace your name with the ‘you’ where it fits. Like I’m doing this very moment.

“Do not let your heart be troubled Fayth. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told Fayth that I am going there to prepare a place for her? And if I go and prepare a place for Fayth, I will come back and take Fayth to be with me that Fayth also may be where I am. Fayth knows the way to the place where I am going”

It’s an extremely comforting way to put it. It reassures me when I put my name in that verse, that I am indeed going to heaven, having already accepted Christ Jesus.

So that’s my main struggle. I hope that this benefits you as well when you doubt being saved. I am leaving doubt and fear and going to faith, hope, and love.

From a daughter of God,

-Fayth

4 thoughts on “Doubt

  1. Derek August 12, 2013 / 4:57 pm

    One thing to think about is this. Doubt isn’t necessarily the opposite of faith. It can spur us on to greater understanding, prompt u to wrestle with genuinely important questions, and help u to identify with people who are not Christians. Another point worth considering is this: doubt your doubts. Rather than see doubt as the opposite of faith, I usually think of fear as the opposite of faith. I hope and pray you experience the assurance only God can provide.

    Like

    • faythmartin19 August 12, 2013 / 6:19 pm

      Thanks for the advice. I do agree with you that doubt and faith are not opposites, although what I was saying is I was doubting(my faith). You have some really good points. :) Thanks for the prayers.

      Like

  2. 1reward August 14, 2013 / 10:26 pm

    Fayth be encouraged!!! Satan is a liar. Always has been and always will be. Remember John 8:12 “He that followeth Me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.” Satan is after the minds of God’s children and the main way he does this is to try to stress us to death, with fears and doubt. Do not give in but every time he brings his hellish suggessions to you remember that God has not changed He is the same always. He paid for you on calvary’s cross and trust me He wants what he paid for and He will go to all lengths to make sure you are saved. God bless you and may the peace of our Lord and Saviour be yours.

    Like

    • faythmartin19 August 15, 2013 / 12:23 am

      Thank you it means a lot. It really does. You have some really great Godly input that I’ll be sure to follow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

