Looking Past the Little Things

As a teenager, looking past all the little things in life is an extremely hard thing to do. It’s hard to imagine life outside of high school, a life where there is less constant pressure. Time seems to drag on forever.

Isn’t it ironic how we tend to gain wisdom through age, but when you really need it seems to be in the early years of your life?

Having friends, wearing the latest trends, being accepted, performing well academically and athletically, all while trying to live a Godly life is stressfully time consuming. Prioritizing God is a big struggle, and it’s often too easy to forget and put other goals first.

God knows it isn’t easy to look past all these obstacles. It’s hard to realize and even admit to ourselves that we aren’t living through our love for Him. It’s just simply very easy to avoid the facts. It has  been a long goal of mine to read the Scripture daily, and I plan on trying to fulfill that hopefully very soon.

It’s difficult to focus on God, when, in reality, you don’t even know what in the world He wants you to do. That’s just the thing though. We don’t know. We don’t know what He wants us to do, but the good news is, He knows.

God knows our every thought, He knows our struggles, and He is by our side always. That’s something I need to remember daily. God is right here, right beside me, and He’s walking me through life every step of the way. Too often I “forget” this, and it is something that I NEED to remember.

It’s time to realize that God is in control, and trust Him. He has me, and it doesn’t matter what other people think, what I wear, or how I perform as long as my focus is on Jesus and I do my best for Him. It’s time to look past the little things. There are bigger things to hold my attention.

 

3 thoughts on “Looking Past the Little Things

  1. Robert William Haddock March 26, 2014 / 9:20 pm

    At 37 I’ve seen how we grow more intimate with God over time if we choose to maintain our Faith and grow through struggles.
    The more we let go of temporal concerns and reach for Him the more we see what His Will would have us do.
    As a younger man I didn’t imagine I could find some elusive Will of an invisible God…but it’s there.

    Like

  2. ropheka March 26, 2014 / 11:54 pm

    Good girl. It only took me fifty years to learn one of the most valuable lessons of life you have learned at a young age.

    Like

Leave a Reply

