How to Love

How do you love? No really, how do you love? Especially, how do you love when your siblings are being incorrigible and they don’t even know what that ‘word’ means. How do you love when people stab you in the back with their words. How do you love when your just plain ignored?

How do you even deal with it? God tells us to love. He tells us not only to love all people, but to love our enemies the MOST.

“But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you,”

–Luke 6:27 ESV

How? Do I do that? Well, I think it’s pretty easy for me to say that I very often don’t. I don’t feel love when my siblings are being incorrigible, and I don’t feel loved or love towards people when the stab me in the back. That hurts.

I still don’t know exactly how to love, or if I even want to know how to love people like my siblings when they’re incorrigible, but I guess we all have to learn. I think I’d like to learn. I’d like to learn to beĀ forgiving, to feel less dislike and less bitter taste and more forgiveness. Heck, to even love if I’ll ever be able to feel such a thing at such a time.

Dear Jesus, show me how to love, even when love seems to be the furthest emotion from my mind.

This is my prayer.

I want to learn how to love, at all times. Who better to learn how to love from than our Savior who loved us so much that He died?

 

 

Leave a Reply

