‘Tis the Festive Time of Year

December 2014 is almost over.

What did I just type?! This year has been off the charts, and God has blessed me with so much. Merely an hour ago, I was let out of school with arms open wide to embrace the eagerly awaited Christmas break. No school for 12 days, minimal homework, family, presents, friends, and Christ are all with or going to be with me in spirit and actuality.

The next time I’m back in school to learn will be in another year! 2015, the year of the future in the 80s Back to the Future movies (fabulous for a laugh).

With the festive season in full swing, I plan to do some last minute Christmas shopping this evening and then fully enjoy the rest of my week. I am again reminded and amazed at how fast a year can zip by, it seems like only yesterday we had received the news of Nelson Mandela’s death.

As gifts have already started to be exchanged, I have found that this year especially so, I find more joy in giving than receiving. Of course, everyone loves a good present, myself included. However, the joy that comes in picking things out to give to people that mean the most to you, and seeing their excitement at the gifts you have given, trumps all.

And without further ado, be joyful in this season as we remember Jesus and his gift of salvation to us.

Merry Christmas Eve, Eve! And if I don’t get back here until after Christmas, Merry Christmas as well!

–Fayth

Leave a Reply

