2k14 in All Its Glory

Can I saw wow?! Woah, so much has happened in this past year, and it has quite possibly been the best year yet of my short life. 2k14, or, more technically speaking, 2014, has been a drastic year of growth, of change, new friends, new experiences, more memories, and disappointments as well as joys.

Let me just say that now I look at myself last year and think: how was I so oblivious?

I did some stupid stuff, and I thought I was cool and knew stuff that I literally knew nothing about. At the same time, I know that next year I’ll look back at this year like that, and so on and so forth.

I was just talking with my dad the other day about how we have the tendency to always look back on times that we thought we knew a lot and had everything working out for us, but in reality we knew little or close to nothing. He assured me that it happens every year, and how college will make you look back and high school and wonder, and how when you’re 30 you’ll look back at college and wonder, and it continues on and on. I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s a cycle.

As far as new year resolutions for 2014 held up, I honestly have no clue. Chances are, I didn’t manage to accomplish all of my goals. I don’t even remember what I had hopes for in 2014.

I vaguely remember myself reminiscing 2013 and all that held. Let me jump back to here and reread my reflections post for 2013. Ah, yes, 2013 was a year full of realizing what friendships were most valuable to me and establishing the existence of my faith. I fully admit that last year was a struggle with doubt and wondering if Jesus was really in my heart.

This year, with my faith a better understood, I was blessed and overjoyed to have climbed over and pretty much conquered doubt. There was still anxiety and a little creeping of doubt here and there in my faith this year, but I knew in my heart that Jesus was there, and that I, indeed, am saved. This was a relief and a joy, it brought pleasure to me and helped me focus more time on further developing my faith vs. establishing it’s existence.

Like always, the sea that is faith was ever changing, the tides were high, low, and in-between. Nearer to the end of this year, I finally started really delving into Scripture again to be inspired and motivated by the word of God.

Job was a really inspirational book for me, and I am amazed by God’s servant’s faith and trust in the Lord. Admittedly, after Job was over, I have again been lacking in spending time in the Bible, but I hope and pray to continue to read more and more of God’s Scripture in this coming year. Wisdom, hope, love, and words of encouragement lie within the Bible, and they are always a blessing.

Let me recount some of my blessings in 2014:

  • I scored a summer job, corn pollinating, but a job nonetheless (also, two weekly mowing jobs) — This made me extremely happy because I had been continually searching for a job, and, at my age it was hard to find one.
  • I purchased a Retina MacBook Pro! — After researching and gazing at MacBooks for almost half a year, I finally spent some of my savings (thanks God for the summer job!) to buy this fabulous machine that I am typing on right now. As an avid lover of technology, having a high quality laptop of my own meant that I could use it as I pleased and whenever I pleased, something that is super convenient although not necessary. Also, with my interest and enjoyment in graphic design, once I have enough to purchase the Adobe Cs6 Design software, a Mac is definitely one of the best laptops to run it.
  • The start of the school year was a smooth one. With 2014 only being my third year in the public school world, and not being the most gifted in the sociable area, I was very thankful to start the school year off well with new friendships, old friendships, and additional acquaintances.
  • A trip to the beach with my cousins was successfully made. I love the beach, nature in itself is absolutely gorgeous and God mesmerizes me with all his intricate creations and creativity, but I have to say that the beach is one of my all time favorite places. Additionally, my cousins are some of my all time favorite people who I am blessed to have strong friendships with. All of us were stuffed in a tiny house, and two of the days were a little drizzly, but lots of memories and quality time was spent at the beach, and there was fun in nearly every moment. The beach is my happy place.
  • My dearest friendships have stayed intact. Although I didn’t worry too much about this, I am ever grateful to have my close friends by my side. We can support each other in Christ and just life in general, regardless of what schools we attend and where we live. This, in itself, is a major praise and I am extremely thankful for them. They are among the best blessings.
  • My faith has grown. Of all of these, I am completely and incredibly thankful that I have gotten to know myself and my Creator better than ever before this year. 2014 has been full of experiences that have shaped and continue to shape me as a person and Christian through trials and joys. With prayers and words heaven bound and worship in solitude and union, I rejoice for He is the Almighty, and through Him I am challenged and strive to make the most of this life on earth.

As I venture into the new year I know that I am not alone, for He is with me, and I have my friends and family by my side.

I am extremely excited to see what 2015 brings in life and faith. Incredibly thankful for a wonderful, wonderful 2014. 2k14 in all its glory ladies and gentlemen!

I am praying for a lovely end of 2014 and a spectacular start to 2015 during this wonderful holiday break off of school. It is my hope to take advantage of opportunities of sharing Jesus’ good news this coming year!

To living and loving for Him, and a new year holding lots of joy–

Cheers my friends!

3 thoughts on “2k14 in All Its Glory

Leave a Reply

