A Feeling of Inferiority

As a teenage girl, I too struggle with my fair share of insecurities. I’m not particularly well-liked or outgoing, and I can’t help but long for the easy friendships some people seem to so quickly attain. When I see someone ‘better’ than me, it’s difficult to not be envious. In fact, sometimes I let doubts about these little petty things get the best of me.

But why?

It’s hard to overcome these feelings of inferiority. Heck, for me, they’re a regular struggle. However, knowing that God made me the way I am uniquely is a wonderful place to start. Yes, it will always seem like other people are better than me, more likable, and have more friends. Yes, those things are all true. Still, it all winds down to the sole question: does it really matter? Don’t fret over those feelings of inferiority, instead, push them aside.

Screen Shot 2015-03-21 at 11.02.16 PM

At this current moment, to my teenage self, yes, it really does matter. Nevertheless, looking ahead a couple years, will negatively looking at myself now be of any use? Will I even care? He knows what is in store for us, and perhaps it is better now that you aren’t as good friends with that girl or boy. Who even knows? God does, and it’s in our best interest to trust His judgement. It’s also important to realize that inferiority is merely a feeling. A feeling, also known as: not a fact, evident sign, or anything else.

Consider this, God made each and every person uniquely in his own image.

You and I both are wonderful people, and the feelings of inferiority that come from those more distant friendships, and all sorts of other things, should fade. Jesus is the true relationship that should be invested in, as a father, relative, King, and friend. Other people are created for us to have relationships with, but ultimately He is all we need.

“God loves me with a love that is increasing and overflowing.”  1 Thessalonians 3:12-13

His Scripture and promises are ever comforts. We don’t need to rely on other humans all the time, because they will let us down. God will continually build us up and help us through the trials we must face.

So, to sum things up, keep on pushing. These feelings of inferiority are worthless. God loves you, and He lets your life play out according to His will. Yes, you won’t be friends with everybody. Yes, not everybody will like you, and yes, facing all these facts will not be easy. Fix your eyes on Jesus, and strive towards what lies ahead. Jesus is superior, and He has made us superior as well. Keep on living dear. Take each step and each day at a time.

God will bless you with particular friends and people in your lives for a reason. Don’t forget that. Treasure your existing friendships, and don’t be afraid to try to make new ones. Yeah, the people might not like you, but if they don’t think you’re worth their time, are they really worth yours? Don’t beat yourself up if someone is closer friends with someone else, etc. God must’ve willed it to be that way.

You are not inferior.

Stay strong in the Lord. He is more reliable than any friend you may meet, whether they love and understand you, or not. x

8 thoughts on “A Feeling of Inferiority

    • d. fayth March 22, 2015 / 6:15 pm

      Hey Bre, I remember seeing that post but I didn’t realize that my blog was listed! The thing is, I actually have over 200 followers…do you want me to follow through anyways?

      Like

  1. Nicole March 23, 2015 / 4:26 am

    Hi I like your post on A Feeling of Inferiority. I was wondering if you don’t have have a post on this, could you do a post dealing with toxic best friendship. Because I cut them off last year, but many times i feel that i have made a mistake because i often think about them even though the friendship we had was going south before it was ended.

    Sent from my iPod

    Like

  2. cslewisdebates March 29, 2015 / 5:16 am

    It looks like you really put a lot of effort into this, you did a great job. You’re so right about God being the best friend we can have. I think we forget that a lot because we can’t talk to him in a two-way conversation. But we can read his word and know his heart. And we can look forward to being with him in heaven.

    I thought you had some good points about not being able to be friends with everyone. I was just reading in the book of Numbers today, and God was displeased when people tried to demand more than he chose to appoint for them.

    I really have to congratulate you on how long you’ve been posting here! A year and a half, and you haven’t missed a single month. Wow. You’re putting in a great effort for the Lord, I’m sure you’ll be rewarded.

    I recently put together a series of brief posts with answers to some of the hardest questions about Christianity. If you’re interested, here’s the link:

    https://cslewisdebates.wordpress.com/questioning-christianity/

    And thanks for following my blog, I followed you back. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Naturally Godly April 30, 2015 / 2:45 pm

    Wow great post. I m nominating you for very inspiring blogger award. Please keep on inspiring others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • d. fayth May 3, 2015 / 12:28 am

      Thank you so much! I feel honored. God is good, and this was something that I was so sick of that I felt compelled to write about it. :) Blessings your way–

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

