Don’t Beat Yourself Up

Beating yourself up over mistakes isn’t worth it. As I read in an article I found tonight after being down in the dumps, “Beating yourself up over your mistakes is only prolonging your suffering.”

There is such truth in those words. Personally, I struggle with confidence in myself and God after I screw up or something goes wrong. Let me focus on sports once again. I had a mediocre volleyball practice tonight. As I was driven home, my dad asked me why I was so quiet. I replied that I was thinking, which I was.

In fact, I was wondering how I could improve my skills. I was stressing out over the fact that I did not play my best. I was meticulously reliving my mistakes, and I was prolonging my misery.

Let me tell you right now friends, that is not how anyone should look at their past mistakes.

God lets us make mistakes and go through trials because we are not perfect. We’re human beings, we screw up, we all are toyed with by the devil, we don’t understand. Mistakes are inevitable, and God does let us face trials. However, He does not do this without purpose.

A good way to approach mistakes, rather then beating yourself up, is to learn from them. Each mistake leaves you a little bit wiser. And yeah, you might just make that mistake again, once, twice, a hundred times. Still, that does not mean it is unbeatable.

Likewise, trials are necessary. It is through hard times that God teaches us how to really live.

So, I urge you to learn from your mistakes. Shake off the mishaps, brush that chip off your shoulder, and stop comparing yourself to others! (I have a tendency, especially with sports, to compare my mistakes to others and end up feeling worse about myself.)

Yeah, we’re not perfect. Yeah, we mess up. But, now we know, right? We’re learning. Mistakes are all part of the learning process. You have every right not to beat yourself up over them.

Next time, try to do it better. Try to avoid the mistakes. It’s not always going to work, and it’s not always going to happen, but still, make an effort! Don’t be discouraged. Don’t prolong your suffering or misery. All that is pointless.

I guarantee you that if you continue to beat yourself up over your mistakes, it won’t help you in life. Feeling bad for yourself or shrinking into a shell will only further gnaw away and destroy you. Instead, embrace your mistakes. Realize that no human is perfect and that God gives us mistakes to learn from.

Hang on there, and please don’t beat yourself up. God’s got you. Have confidence in yourself.

Let me tell you that having a determined mentality will get you places. Learn from your mistakes, and never stop trying to reach those stars.

Please don’t beat yourself up, especially not over sports. It’s honestly just a waste of your time. Believe in yourself and Jesus, and He will get you where you need to be.

I can do this, and so can you. God’s has our backs.

Mistakes are great ways to identify what you need to improve and work on improving it. Cheer up, and take heart! Everything transforms, and a positive and determined attitude is key.

(It’s okay to not be perfect, and I’m currently making a resolution to not beat myself up over my mistakes. This post is as much for myself as it is for you.) We’ve got this. God’s got us. Amen.

–D. Fayth

Psst, blessings to you this Easter week! I am so incredibly humbled, ashamed, and grateful for the sacrifice of Jesus so that I can live beyond this Earth and my sins are forgiven.

4 thoughts on “Don’t Beat Yourself Up

    • d. fayth April 3, 2015 / 6:51 pm

      Awe, I’m glad it was helpful. I’m sure you’re awesome too. ;) Happy Easter!

      Like

  1. Candice April 4, 2015 / 5:43 pm

    This is exactly what I struggle with. Making mistakes, big ones, sort of just drains out every bit of confidence you have in yourself. Thanks for writing this! And I love your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • d. fayth April 4, 2015 / 11:08 pm

      You’re welcome! I’m glad you appreciate it. You’re lovely. x

      Like

Leave a Reply

