Neil Perry

But truly, how many kids could look you in the eye and tell you that they never thought pulling a Neil Perry would be appealing? In this day and age, I do believe, surprisingly only few.

To anyone and everyone out there who have no clue when I reference Neil Perry, look up and watch Dead Poet’s Society. The main character, Neil, eventually kills himself because of his overbearing and inconsiderate parents. Yeah, this post really is a lot darker then you probably originally thought.

To all the parents out there: please, I beg you, at the least, practice what you preach. I will tell you, nothing makes a kid despise their parents more than hypocrisy. Like, for example, lying when you establish lying is not tolerated in your household.

So yeah, there’s that.

Now, I personally have the very strong belief that I am not stupid enough to ever pull a Neil Perry, but, I see why he did it. I understand him. So many kids in these days understand him. Sometimes you get caught in your emotions so deeply that you might do what you would normally consider the unthinkable.

So just, be kind to your children. Invest in them and in their knowledge and relationships with Jesus. Spend time with them. Do what you can to help them become comfortable around you, and let them know that you are always there for them to tell anything. Be there to help draw them closer to Christ.

I wouldn’t know what a parent-child relationship like that is like, but let me say, I wish I had one. Don’t get me wrong, I love my parents, we just aren’t like that.

Perhaps you already are like this, or you are sure that your child won’t ever consider pulling a Neil Perry…don’t count on it.

Trust me, there is so much in this world that makes it unappealing.

However, when the time is right, someday I will be in a better place. And hopefully you, as well.

If you are considering pulling a Neil Perry, hang tight, I’ve been there before. Only briefly, when every logical thought flees my head. But know that you are not alone, there are people supporting you and your endeavors, be who you want to be. Escape your misery by living life your own way. Defy the bonds of captivity, and face the consequences. God has you, He cares for you, and He wants so much for you.

Trust me.

2 thoughts on “Neil Perry

Leave a Reply

