The Future

What a daunting, stressful, and exciting subject.

The future: typically consisting of college or university, high school graduation, choosing a profession, earning a living, and doing something with your life.

We worry too much. Yes, we all want to do great things. Or, at least, I want to do great things, however, there will always be mountains to climb and valleys to stumble in before we achieve greatness. And, also, everyone thinks of greatness as something different. To me, earthly greatness is finding something to do in life that I love, and to spread God’s message through it.

Last night was my older sister’s high school graduation party, so it was rather nostalgic and a glimpse at what I will encounter in the near years. I am, to be frank, a worrywart. I stress about my grades, I stress about busy schedules, but all at the same time, I love to be doing things and am excited about the future. How exactly does that work? I’m not sure, but God knows.

Yes there is pressure on myself, especially for school, from people who know I am academically blessed and myself. However, there is a line between having a life and perfectionism and working too hard. I need to come to terms with this, and yet, I pray that I will learn how to live my life accordingly. Life can’t be worth living if all that is prioritized are grades and earthly matters.

There are many challenges and trials in life that God gives us for a purpose, and He has blessed me in unique ways that I want to stretch and utilize in order to please Him. He additionally has given me weaknesses, also accordingly, so that I may learn and grow in the process of living life in the future (for the future).

The future, there’s that daunting subject yet again. If we’re speaking in technical terms, at this very moment, I am living the future. We are all living the future. We live in the future. The future is here and now and it is in every single breath I take. I don’t even know if I can reference the future as a subject, or even an object. The future is all part of a concept. Today’s past was yesterday’s future and tomorrow’s future will be the day after tomorrow’s past. Things get messy real quick if you reference the whole time concept of future in that regard.

Pressure almost always surrounds the concept of future. Often times there are massive walls of individual’s expectations for you to excel and achieve a level of “success” however it is deemed.

Yet, while keeping all this in the back of your mind, don’t stress out too much. Simply focus on what God throws at you each and every day. You tackle the future every moment of your life. What some people consider a waste of time could be a necessary period of relaxation. Don’t cave and subject yourself to worry and stress about the future based on what other individuals think or say, but live your life and view the future with a swing in your step and Jesus in mind.

He has plans for you, plans for you to prosper. Only He knows how they will turn out, and every single instance of your life plays out for reasons entirely unknown to everyone except God.

Speaking of the future, consider what you might think when you look back at yourself now in ten years.

God has a plan. I am excited. I am scared. The future is daunting, but I would like to think of myself as ready.

This was such a discombobulated post, but I hope someone out there gleans from my emotions and what I am trying to express through these words.

With a determination to look at the future from a different perspective–

D. Fayth

One thought on “The Future

  1. vesselsministry June 23, 2015 / 12:17 pm

    We don’t know what the future holds but we do know that God holds it in His hands ~ Amen: Y

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

